Public Service Social Security Fund
Tanzania, United Republic of

Managing the process of merging four social security schemes

Implementation year

Previously, the United Republic of Tanzania had five social security schemes namely National Social Security Fund (NSSF), PPF Pensions Fund, LAPF Pensions Fund, GEPF Retirement Benefits Fund, and Public Service Pension Fund (PSPF), offering pension and allied benefits.

The Government in 2018 made reforms whereby NSSF was mandated to serve the private sector employees and the informal sector while the remaining four schemes were merged to form the Public Service Social Security Fund (PSSSF, hereafter the Fund) to serve the public sector employees. PSSSF started its operations on 1 August 2018, expected immediately to take over the operations of the four merged schemes, including to start serving all the inherited members and pensioners.

PSSSF has managed to successfully navigate the merging process and has sustainably maintained its operations.

Continuity and resilience