Resilience business for sustainable and inclusive growth concept
Veröffentlicht:
10. August 2023
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Amerika
Topic:
Krankenversicherung
Elektronische Dienstleistungen
Technologischer Wandel
Dienstleistungsqualität
Kontinuität und Widerstandsfähigkeit
COVID-19
Leitlinie:
Kontinuität und Widerstandsfähigkeit von Dienstleistungen und Systemen der sozialen Sicherheit

Die institutionelle Widerstandsfähigkeit und die Notwendigkeit, die betrieblichen Prozesse aufrechtzuerhalten, sind in der sozialen Sicherheit weithin anerkannte Konzepte, die für die Erbringung von Dienstleistungen für die Bevölkerung im Falle von Naturkatastrophen oder unvorhergesehenen katastrophalen Ereignissen unerlässlich sind. Dies hat sich im Laufe der Jahre in Bemühungen zur Stärkung der Prozesse, der Infrastruktur und der den Einrichtungen zur Bewältigung verschiedener Krisen zur Verfügung stehenden Ressourcen niedergeschlagen.

istock
Veröffentlicht:
16. November 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Europa
Topic:
Personalmanagement
Technologischer Wandel
COVID-19
Leitlinie:
Good Governance
Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie
Personalmanagement in der Verwaltung der sozialen Sicherheit

Die Verwaltungen der sozialen Sicherheit verfolgten in den letzten Jahrzehnten verstärkt digitale Strategien, und die Coronakrise hat die digitale Transformation nun noch weiter beschleunigt. In der Reaktion auf den beispiellosen Bedarf hat sich gezeigt, dass digitale Systeme trotz operativer Einschränkungen eine hohe Widerstandsfähigkeit und Skalierbarkeit aufweisen. Dies hat die Institutionen der sozialen Sicherheit dazu gedrängt, digitale Dienstleistungen zum Standard zu machen. Der vorliegende Artikel beschreibt Erfahrungen von Institutionen der sozialen Sicherheit aus Europa.

Resilience business for sustainable and inclusive growth concept. Stock photo.
Veröffentlicht:
16. August 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Asien und Pazifik
Topic:
Personalmanagement
Betriebsprozeß
Dienstleistungserbringung
Kontinuität und Widerstandsfähigkeit
COVID-19
Leitlinie:
Good Governance
Dienstleistungsqualität
Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie
Kontinuität und Widerstandsfähigkeit von Dienstleistungen und Systemen der sozialen Sicherheit

Die beispiellos zunehmenden Bedürfnisse nach sozialer Sicherheit während der COVID-19-Krise haben die Leistungserbringungskanäle der Institutionen sowohl physisch als auch online überstrapaziert. Dieser Artikel befasst sich mit der Bedeutung des Betriebskontinuitätsmanagements in Anbetracht der Pandemie, indem auf guter Praxis der Institutionen der sozialen Sicherheit in Asien und im Pazifik aufgebaut wird.

Wealth stock illustration
Veröffentlicht:
23. Juni 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Amerika
Topic:
Beitragseinzug und Einhaltung der Bestimmungen
COVID-19
Leitlinie:
Dienstleistungsqualität
Beitragseinzug und Einhaltung der Bestimmungen
Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie
Administrative Lösungen für die Deckungsausweitung

Der Beitragseinzug und die Einhaltung der Bestimmungen spielen eine zentrale Rolle in der sozialen Sicherheit, da sie helfen, die Tragfähigkeit der Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit aufrechtzuerhalten und eine höhere Deckung der Beschäftigten zu erreichen. In den Leitlinien der IVSS über Beitragseinzug und Einhaltung der Bestimmungen (IVSS, 2019) heißt es: „Die fristgerechte und vollständige Zahlung von Beiträgen durch und für die Versicherten ist nötig, wenn sie einen Rechtsanspruch auf Leistungen erhalten sollen.“

Stethoscope and calculator symbol for health care costs or medical insurance
Veröffentlicht:
22. März 2022
Type:

Analysis

Topic:
Geldleistungen bei Krankheit
Deckungsausweitung
COVID-19

Krankengelder sind ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des sozialen Gesundheitsschutzes und fördern das Menschenrecht auf Gesundheit und soziale Sicherheit, indem sie Verarmung aufgrund von Einkommensverlusten bei Krankheit verhindern. Die COVID-19 Krise hat das Krankengeld als wichtige Maßnahme zur Eindämmung der Pandemieausbreitung und zur Einkommenssicherung der Erkrankten ins Rampenlicht gerückt. Gleichzeitig hat die Pandemie Deckungslücken und zentrale Probleme aufgezeigt, die behoben werden müssen, damit die Krankheitsleistungen ihren Zweck erfüllen können.

Portrait of a businesswoman wearing protective facemask using digital tablet in co-working office space
Veröffentlicht:
2. Februar 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Asien und Pazifik
Topic:
COVID-19

In der Region Asien und Pazifik leben über 60 Prozent der Weltbevölkerung. Der Coronapandemie fielen Millionen von Arbeitsplätzen und Existenzgrundlagen zum Opfer. Die Auswirkungen und die staatlichen Reaktionen fielen innerhalb der Region sehr unterschiedlich aus. Vor dem Ausbruch lebten 640 Millionen nach mehreren Kriterien armer Menschen („mehrdimensionale Armut“) in der Region, und durch die Pandemie dürfte sich diese Zahl verdoppelt haben (ESCAP; ADB; UNDP, 2021). Wie auch in anderen Regionen wurden durch COVID-19 Jahre des Fortschritts auf dem Weg zum Erreichen der Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung der Vereinten Nationen zunichte gemacht, und nach der zuvor erreichten Armutsreduktion nahm die Armut wieder zu (IAA, 2021a, S. 19).

Veröffentlicht:
5. November 2021
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Amerika
Topic:
COVID-19

Aufgrund der Coronakrise sahen sich die Länder ganz Amerikas gezwungen, vor allem in den Bereichen der öffentlichen Gesundheit und der sozialen Sicherheit beispiellose Schritte zu gehen, um die eigenen Bevölkerungen zu schützen. Die Staaten entwickelten insbesondere ein breites Spektrum von Strategien, um ihre Bürgerinnen und Bürger gegen Einkommensverluste zu schützen, als diese aufgrund von Lockdowns ihrer Erwerbstätigkeit nicht mehr nachgehen konnten. Es wurden zahlreiche und sehr unterschiedliche Strategien umgesetzt, hauptsächlich durch einen Beschäftigungsschutz, durch Arbeitslosenleistungen und durch Hilfsprogramme für die am stärksten von der Krise betroffenen Gruppen wie Selbstständige und informelle Arbeitnehmer.

face masks- african tissue
Veröffentlicht:
28. September 2021
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Afrika
Topic:
Gesundheit
Beschäftigung
COVID-19

Der wirksame Zugang zu angemessenem Sozialschutz spielt eine zentrale Rolle in der Förderung der nachhaltigen Entwicklung, des sozialen Zusammenhalts und der sozioökonomischen Widerstandsfähigkeit. In Anerkennung dessen haben sich afrikanische Regierungen in den letzten Jahrzehnten erneut dazu verpflichtet, den Geltungsbereich der sozialen Sicherheit zu erweitern und auf die überwiegende Mehrheit der Bevölkerung des Kontinents auszudehnen. Die tatsächliche Deckungsrate bleibt jedoch im Allgemeinen nach wie vor niedrig und variiert innerhalb der Länder und zwischen den einzelnen Zweigen der Sozialversicherungen aufgrund der geringen Erwerbsbeteiligung in der formellen Wirtschaft (IAO, 2017).

Economic recession due to coronavirus
Veröffentlicht:
6. Juli 2021
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Amerika
Topic:
Datenanalytik
COVID-19

Die korrekte Interpretation von Daten stellt eine große Herausforderung für alle Organisationen dar. In einer Welt, in der alles immer schneller gehen muss und in der unverzügliche und angemessene Entscheidungen verlangt werden, ist die Datenanalyse zu einem immer wichtigeren Instrument geworden. Insbesondere im Kontext von COVID-19 ermöglichte der Einsatz von Analysetechnologien den Institutionen, die gesundheitlichen und sozialen Auswirkungen der Pandemie besser einzuschätzen und die Entscheidungsfindung zu verbessern.

Health Insurance, Healthcare business graph and Medical examination, Doctor with stethoscope pointing at business data growth chart ,Medical and medicine business on hospital background.
Veröffentlicht:
18. Juni 2021
Type:

Analysis

Topic:
Krankenversicherung
Technologischer Wandel
Deckungsausweitung
Dienstleistungsqualität
COVID-19

Eine universelle Krankenversicherungsdeckung ist eine globale Priorität, und der Zugang zu Gesundheitsleistungen ist einer der wichtigsten Bestandteile der sozialen Sicherheit. Die COVID-19-Pandemie hat erneut gezeigt, wie wichtig ein universeller Zugang zu einer bezahlbaren Gesundheitsversorgung ist. Die Erbringungssysteme und die Finanzierungsmethoden der Gesundheitsversorgung haben große Auswirkungen darauf, wie die Menschen Zugang zu Gesundheitsleistungen haben und wie sie diese nutzen können. Die nationalen Krankenversicherungssysteme vieler Länder sehen zwar einen umfassenden und gerechten Zugang zu Gesundheitsleistungen vor, die Umsetzung birgt aber oft zahlreiche Herausforderungen.

Resilience business for sustainable and inclusive growth concept
Published:
10 August 2023
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Americas
Topic:
Health insurance
E-services
Technological transition
Service quality
Continuity and resilience
COVID-19
Guideline:
Continuity and Resilience of Social Security Services and Systems

Institutional resilience and the need to maintain operational continuity are concepts widely recognised in social security as the main indispensable characteristics for providing services to the population in the event of natural disasters or unforeseen catastrophic events. This has manifested itself over the years in efforts to strengthen processes, infrastructure and the resources that institutions have available to cope with different crises.

istock
Published:
16 November 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Europe
Topic:
Human resource management
Technological transition
COVID-19
Guideline:
Good Governance
Information and Communication Technology
Human Resource Management in Social Security Administration

While social security administrations have gradually pursued digital strategies over the past decades, the COVID-19 crisis accelerated their digital transformation journey. The resilience and scalability of digital systems in responding to unprecedented needs despite operational constraints has dramatically moved the needle on organizations going “digital by default”. This article builds on the experiences of social security institutions in Europe.

Resilience business for sustainable and inclusive growth concept. Stock photo.
Published:
16 August 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Asia and Pacific
Topic:
Human resource management
Business process
Service delivery
Continuity and resilience
COVID-19
Guideline:
Good Governance
Service Quality
Information and Communication Technology
Continuity and Resilience of Social Security Services and Systems

The unprecedented surge in the need for social security during the COVID-19 crisis overwhelmed institutions’ service delivery channels, both physical and online. This article deals with the importance of Business Continuity Management in light of the pandemic, building on good practices of social security institutions in Asia and the Pacific.

Wealth stock illustration
Published:
23 June 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Americas
Topic:
Contribution collection and compliance
COVID-19
Guideline:
Service Quality
Contribution Collection and Compliance
Information and Communication Technology
Administrative Solutions for Coverage Extension

Contribution collection and compliance plays a fundamental role in social security as it helps to ensure the sustainability of social security systems and promotes a higher level of coverage among workers. As the ISSA Guidelines on Contribution Collection and Compliance (ISSA, 2019) put it, “The timely and full payment of contributions by and on behalf of insured persons is necessary if they are to achieve the benefits to which they are legally entitled”.

Stethoscope and calculator symbol for health care costs or medical insurance
Published:
22 March 2022
Type:

Analysis

Topic:
Cash sickness benefits
Extension of coverage
COVID-19

Sickness benefits are an essential component of social health protection, promoting the human right to health and social security, by preventing impoverishment due to the loss of income during sickness. The COVID-19 crisis has brought sickness benefits into the spotlight as a major measure to mitigate the spread of the disease and ensure income protection for those who fall sick. At the same time, the pandemic has emphasized coverage gaps and key concerns that need to be addressed for sickness benefits to attain their purpose.

Portrait of a businesswoman wearing protective facemask using digital tablet in co-working office space
Published:
2 February 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Asia and Pacific
Topic:
COVID-19

The region of Asia and the Pacific is home to over 60 per cent of the global population. The COVID‑19 pandemic provoked a crisis that destroyed millions of jobs and livelihoods. Across the region, its impacts and government responses to it have differed widely. While there were 640 million multidimensional poor people in the region in 2019, the pandemic’s socioeconomic impacts may double this figure (ESCAP, ADB and UNDP, 2021). Like in other regions, the pandemc imperils progress towards achieving the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, in particular by reversing gains in poverty reduction (ILO, 2021a, p. 19).

Published:
5 November 2021
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Americas
Topic:
COVID-19

The COVID-19 crisis has forced countries across the Americas to take unprecedented steps to protect their populations, chiefly in the fields of public health and social security. In particular, States have developed a wide range of policies designed to safeguard their citizens against lost income when lockdown measures have made it impossible for them to carry out their productive economic activities. Such policies are many and varied, primarily comprising employment protection, the mobilization of unemployment benefits and the creation of social programmes to protect those groups hit hardest by the crisis, such as self-employed and informal workers.

face masks- african tissue
Published:
28 September 2021
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Africa
Topic:
Health
Employment
COVID-19

Effective access to adequate social protection plays a crucial role in promoting sustainable development, social cohesion and socioeconomic resilience. In recognition of this, African governments have expressed a renewed commitment to expand the scope and extend social security coverage to the vast majority of the population on the continent during the last decades. However, effective coverage rates remain generally low and vary within countries and across branches of social security due to low labour participation in the formal economy (ILO, 2017).

Economic recession due to coronavirus
Published:
6 July 2021
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Americas
Topic:
Data analytics
COVID-19

The correct interpretation of data is a great challenge faced by all organizations. In an increasingly fast-paced environment, which demands timely and apposite decisions, data analysis has become an increasingly important tool. In particular, in the context of COVID-19, the use of analytical technologies has enabled institutions to better evaluate the health and social impact of the pandemic and to improve decision-making processes.

Health Insurance, Healthcare business graph and Medical examination, Doctor with stethoscope pointing at business data growth chart ,Medical and medicine business on hospital background.
Published:
18 June 2021
Type:

Analysis

Topic:
Health insurance
Technological transition
Extension of coverage
Service quality
COVID-19

Universal health coverage (UHC) is a global health priority and access to health care services is one of the most important components of social security. The COVID-19 pandemic has once again highlighted the need for universal access to affordable care. Health care service delivery systems and financing methods have important repercussions for people in accessing and benefitting from health coverage. While national health insurance systems enable comprehensive and equitable access to health-care services in many countries, implementing them involves several challenges.