Resilience business for sustainable and inclusive growth concept
Publié:
10 août 2023
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Amériques
Topic:
Assurance-maladie
E-services
Transition technologique
Qualité des services
Continuité et résilience
COVID-19
Ligne directrice:
Continuité et résilience des services et systèmes de sécurité sociale

Dans le domaine de la sécurité sociale, il est largement reconnu que la résilience institutionnelle et la nécessité de garantir la continuité de l’activité sont les principales caractéristiques indispensables pour pouvoir fournir des services à la population en cas de catastrophe naturelle ou d’événement extrême imprévisible. En témoignent les efforts déployés au fil des années pour renforcer les processus, l’infrastructure et les ressources dont disposent les institutions pour faire face à diverses crises.

istock
Publié:
16 novembre 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Europe
Topic:
Gestion des ressources humaines
Transition technologique
COVID-19
Ligne directrice:
Bonne gouvernance
Technologies de l'information et de la communication
Gestion des ressources humaines dans l'administration de la sécurité sociale

Les institutions de sécurité sociale déployaient déjà progressivement des stratégies numériques ces dernières décennies, mais la crise de la COVID-19 a accéléré cette transformation. La résilience et l’évolutivité des systèmes numériques, qui ont permis de répondre à des besoins sans précédent malgré les contraintes opérationnelles, ont considérablement changé la donne pour les organisations engagées sur la voie du «numérique par défaut». Cet article a été rédigé à partir des expériences menées par les institutions de sécurité sociale européennes.

Resilience business for sustainable and inclusive growth concept. Stock photo.
Publié:
16 août 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Asie et Pacifique
Topic:
Gestion des ressources humaines
Processus opérationnel
Prestation de services
Continuité et résilience
COVID-19
Ligne directrice:
Bonne gouvernance
Qualité des services
Technologies de l'information et de la communication
Continuité et résilience des services et systèmes de sécurité sociale

La nécessité de recourir aux services de sécurité sociale a augmenté comme jamais durant la crise de COVID-19. Les canaux de prestation de services des institutions, tant physiques que dématérialisés, ont été surchargés. Cet article traite de l’importance de la gestion de la continuité des activités à la lumière de la pandémie et repose sur les bonnes pratiques des institutions de sécurité sociale dans la région Asie et Pacifique.

Wealth stock illustration
Publié:
23 juin 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Amériques
Topic:
Recouvrement des cotisations et conformité
COVID-19
Ligne directrice:
Qualité des services
Recouvrement des cotisations et conformité
Technologies de l'information et de la communication
Solutions administratives pour l'extension de la couverture

Le recouvrement des cotisations et la conformité jouent un rôle fondamental dans le domaine de la sécurité sociale, étant donné qu’ils contribuent à garantir la viabilité des systèmes de sécurité sociale et à augmenter le niveau de couverture parmi les travailleurs. Comme précisé dans les Lignes directrices de l’AISS en matière de recouvrement des cotisations et de conformité (AISS, 2019): «Le paiement intégral et ponctuel des cotisations, par les assurés eux-mêmes ou une entité agissant pour leur compte, est en effet indispensable pour que ces derniers puissent obtenir les prestations auxquelles ils ont droit.»

Stethoscope and calculator symbol for health care costs or medical insurance
Publié:
22 mars 2022
Type:

Analysis

Topic:
Indemnités de maladie
Extension de la couverture
COVID-19

Les indemnités de maladie sont une composante essentielle de la protection sociale de la santé: elles favorisent l’exercice du droit humain qu’est le droit à la santé et à la sécurité sociale en empêchant que la perte de revenu subie pendant une maladie n’entraîne un appauvrissement. La crise de la COVID-19 a démontré leur importance parce qu’elles ont constitué un précieux levier pour contenir la propagation de la maladie et protéger le revenu des personnes qui l’ont contractée. Dans le même temps, elle a mis en lumière des lacunes dans la couverture et des faiblesses auxquelles il est nécessaire de remédier pour que ces prestations atteignent leur objectif.

Portrait of a businesswoman wearing protective facemask using digital tablet in co-working office space
Publié:
2 février 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Asie et Pacifique
Topic:
COVID-19

La région Asie et Pacifique abrite plus de 60 pour cent de la population mondiale. La pandémie de COVID-19 a privé des millions de personnes d’emploi et de moyens de subsistance. Ses retombées et les réponses des pouvoirs publics ont été très variables d’un pays de la région à l’autre. Elle pourrait multiplier par deux le nombre de personnes touchées par la pauvreté multidimensionnelle, qui s’établissait à 640 millions dans la région avant sa survenue (ESCAP, BAsD et PNUD, 2021). Comme dans d’autres parties du monde, elle risque de compromettre des années de progrès vers la réalisation des objectifs de développement durable (ODD), réduisant à néant les avancées accomplies en matière de réduction de la pauvreté (BIT, 2021a, p. 19).

Publié:
5 novembre 2021
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Amériques
Topic:
COVID-19

La crise de la COVID-19 a contraint les pays des Amériques à prendre des mesures sans précédent pour protéger leur population, en premier lieu dans les domaines de la santé publique et de la sécurité sociale. Les États ont notamment mis au point un large éventail de politiques visant à protéger les citoyens contre la perte de revenu lorsque les confinements ont rendu impossible l’exercice d’une activité économique productive. Ces politiques sont à la fois nombreuses et variées, englobant des mesures de protection de l’emploi, le recours aux régimes d’indemnisation du chômage et la création de programmes sociaux pour protéger les publics les plus durement touchés par la crise, comme les travailleurs indépendants et informels.

face masks- african tissue
Publié:
28 septembre 2021
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Afrique
Topic:
Santé
Emploi
COVID-19

L’accès effectif à une protection sociale adéquate est au coeur du développement durable, de la cohésion sociale et de la résilience sociale et économique. C’est pourquoi au cours des décennies écoulées, les gouvernements africains ont réaffirmé leur volonté de renforcer la couverture et de l’étendre à une grande majorité de la population du continent. Les taux de couverture effective n’en demeurent pas moins globalement faibles et présentent des disparités au sein des pays et des différentes branches de la sécurité sociale en raison de la faible participation de la main d’oeuvre dans l’économie formelle (OIT, 2017).

Economic recession due to coronavirus
Publié:
6 juillet 2021
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Amériques
Topic:
Analyses de données
COVID-19

L’interprétation correcte des données est un défi de taille auquel sont confrontées toutes les organisations. Dans un environnement toujours plus dynamique, qui exige la prise de décisions opportunes et pertinentes, l’analyse des données est devenue un outil de plus en plus important. Dans le contexte de la crise de la COVID-19 en particulier, l’utilisation des technologies analytiques a permis aux institutions de mieux évaluer l’impact sanitaire et social de la pandémie et d’améliorer les processus décisionnels.

Health Insurance, Healthcare business graph and Medical examination, Doctor with stethoscope pointing at business data growth chart ,Medical and medicine business on hospital background.
Publié:
18 juin 2021
Type:

Analysis

Topic:
Assurance-maladie
Transition technologique
Extension de la couverture
Qualité des services
COVID-19

La couverture sanitaire universelle (CSU) est une priorité sanitaire mondiale et l’accès aux services de soins de santé est l’une des composantes les plus importantes de la sécurité sociale. La pandémie de COVID-19 a une fois encore mis en lumière la nécessité d’un accès universel à des soins abordables. La prestation de services de santé et leurs modes de financement ont de répercussions importantes sur les personnes qui y accèdent et bénéficient d’une couverture santé. Si les systèmes nationaux d’assurance maladie permettent un accès complet et équitable aux services de santé dans de nombreux pays, leur mise en œuvre comporte plusieurs défis.

Resilience business for sustainable and inclusive growth concept
Published:
10 August 2023
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Americas
Topic:
Health insurance
E-services
Technological transition
Service quality
Continuity and resilience
COVID-19
Guideline:
Continuity and Resilience of Social Security Services and Systems

Institutional resilience and the need to maintain operational continuity are concepts widely recognised in social security as the main indispensable characteristics for providing services to the population in the event of natural disasters or unforeseen catastrophic events. This has manifested itself over the years in efforts to strengthen processes, infrastructure and the resources that institutions have available to cope with different crises.

istock
Published:
16 November 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Europe
Topic:
Human resource management
Technological transition
COVID-19
Guideline:
Good Governance
Information and Communication Technology
Human Resource Management in Social Security Administration

While social security administrations have gradually pursued digital strategies over the past decades, the COVID-19 crisis accelerated their digital transformation journey. The resilience and scalability of digital systems in responding to unprecedented needs despite operational constraints has dramatically moved the needle on organizations going “digital by default”. This article builds on the experiences of social security institutions in Europe.

Resilience business for sustainable and inclusive growth concept. Stock photo.
Published:
16 August 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Asia and Pacific
Topic:
Human resource management
Business process
Service delivery
Continuity and resilience
COVID-19
Guideline:
Good Governance
Service Quality
Information and Communication Technology
Continuity and Resilience of Social Security Services and Systems

The unprecedented surge in the need for social security during the COVID-19 crisis overwhelmed institutions’ service delivery channels, both physical and online. This article deals with the importance of Business Continuity Management in light of the pandemic, building on good practices of social security institutions in Asia and the Pacific.

Wealth stock illustration
Published:
23 June 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Americas
Topic:
Contribution collection and compliance
COVID-19
Guideline:
Service Quality
Contribution Collection and Compliance
Information and Communication Technology
Administrative Solutions for Coverage Extension

Contribution collection and compliance plays a fundamental role in social security as it helps to ensure the sustainability of social security systems and promotes a higher level of coverage among workers. As the ISSA Guidelines on Contribution Collection and Compliance (ISSA, 2019) put it, “The timely and full payment of contributions by and on behalf of insured persons is necessary if they are to achieve the benefits to which they are legally entitled”.

Stethoscope and calculator symbol for health care costs or medical insurance
Published:
22 March 2022
Type:

Analysis

Topic:
Cash sickness benefits
Extension of coverage
COVID-19

Sickness benefits are an essential component of social health protection, promoting the human right to health and social security, by preventing impoverishment due to the loss of income during sickness. The COVID-19 crisis has brought sickness benefits into the spotlight as a major measure to mitigate the spread of the disease and ensure income protection for those who fall sick. At the same time, the pandemic has emphasized coverage gaps and key concerns that need to be addressed for sickness benefits to attain their purpose.

Portrait of a businesswoman wearing protective facemask using digital tablet in co-working office space
Published:
2 February 2022
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Asia and Pacific
Topic:
COVID-19

The region of Asia and the Pacific is home to over 60 per cent of the global population. The COVID‑19 pandemic provoked a crisis that destroyed millions of jobs and livelihoods. Across the region, its impacts and government responses to it have differed widely. While there were 640 million multidimensional poor people in the region in 2019, the pandemic’s socioeconomic impacts may double this figure (ESCAP, ADB and UNDP, 2021). Like in other regions, the pandemc imperils progress towards achieving the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals, in particular by reversing gains in poverty reduction (ILO, 2021a, p. 19).

Published:
5 November 2021
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Americas
Topic:
COVID-19

The COVID-19 crisis has forced countries across the Americas to take unprecedented steps to protect their populations, chiefly in the fields of public health and social security. In particular, States have developed a wide range of policies designed to safeguard their citizens against lost income when lockdown measures have made it impossible for them to carry out their productive economic activities. Such policies are many and varied, primarily comprising employment protection, the mobilization of unemployment benefits and the creation of social programmes to protect those groups hit hardest by the crisis, such as self-employed and informal workers.

face masks- african tissue
Published:
28 September 2021
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Africa
Topic:
Health
Employment
COVID-19

Effective access to adequate social protection plays a crucial role in promoting sustainable development, social cohesion and socioeconomic resilience. In recognition of this, African governments have expressed a renewed commitment to expand the scope and extend social security coverage to the vast majority of the population on the continent during the last decades. However, effective coverage rates remain generally low and vary within countries and across branches of social security due to low labour participation in the formal economy (ILO, 2017).

Economic recession due to coronavirus
Published:
6 July 2021
Type:

Analysis

Region:
Americas
Topic:
Data analytics
COVID-19

The correct interpretation of data is a great challenge faced by all organizations. In an increasingly fast-paced environment, which demands timely and apposite decisions, data analysis has become an increasingly important tool. In particular, in the context of COVID-19, the use of analytical technologies has enabled institutions to better evaluate the health and social impact of the pandemic and to improve decision-making processes.

Health Insurance, Healthcare business graph and Medical examination, Doctor with stethoscope pointing at business data growth chart ,Medical and medicine business on hospital background.
Published:
18 June 2021
Type:

Analysis

Topic:
Health insurance
Technological transition
Extension of coverage
Service quality
COVID-19

Universal health coverage (UHC) is a global health priority and access to health care services is one of the most important components of social security. The COVID-19 pandemic has once again highlighted the need for universal access to affordable care. Health care service delivery systems and financing methods have important repercussions for people in accessing and benefitting from health coverage. While national health insurance systems enable comprehensive and equitable access to health-care services in many countries, implementing them involves several challenges.